Many New Yorkers are likely unaware that a collection of ancient Egyptian items once resided on Broadway near Astor Place. From 1853-1860 the Abbott Collection, displayed as the Egyptian Museum, was located at the Stuyvesant Institute at 659 Broadway. Dr. Henry Abbott was a British physician who lived in Cairo for over 20 years and was a known collector of Egyptian art and antiquities, in a time when it was still possible to collect and...Read More
Lore has it that Hog Island – a little spit of land off the coast of Far Rockaway that was said to resemble the back of a hog -- was washed away in the hurricane of 1893. But though this story is trotted out every time New York City is threatened (like now) by another hurricane, contemporaneous sources suggest a more gradual end.
J.B. Beers, New Map of Kings and Queens Counties, 1886
This post was written by Bob Greiner who is working on behalf of the Mid-Atlantic Germanic Society to index the Reverend Frederick W. Geissenhainer records at the New-York Historical Society .
The Patricia D. Klingenstein Library at the New-York Historical Society maintains the pastoral records of the Reverend Frederick W. Geissenhainer in its manuscript collection (located under BV New York City Churches). This unique set of five volumes documents the lives of many German immigrants who...Read More
Museum & Library Map
Floor plan & visitor information
New-York Historical Society
170 Central Park West
at Richard Gilder Way (77th Street)
New York, NY 10024